Wake Forest to Host 2018 NCAA Tennis Championships

December 11, 2013 05:08 PM

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The NCAA announced today that Wake Forest has been selected as the host site for the 2018 NCAA Division I Tennis Championships, marking the first time that the event will be held in Winston-Salem.

The 2018 tournament will be held at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex, already the site of top-tier tennis as the home of the ATP’s annual Winston-Salem Open.

“We are honored that Wake Forest has been recognized for its ability to host great events, and we look forward to continuing in that tradition with the 2018 NCAA Championships,” said associate athletic director Bill Oakes, the tournament director of the Winston-Salem Open. “The Wake Forest Tennis Complex has become a destination for top collegiate and professional tennis in this country, and we are excited to once again bring a premier event to our community.”

Built in 2011 as one of the best college facilities in the country, the Wake Forest Tennis Complex features 13 Deco-Turf II outdoor courts – the same court surface that is used at the US Open. The Leighton Courts at the complex serve as the home of Wake Forest’s men’s and women’s tennis teams while the Wake Forest Indoor Tennis Center features eight courts that could be used in case of inclement weather during the tournament.

Under the current format, 16 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams advance to the final site of the NCAA Tennis Championships to compete for the team titles. After the conclusion of team play, competition takes place for the individual singles and doubles titles.

The 2018 NCAA Tennis Championships will be only the fifth time that an NCAA title has been handed out at Wake Forest. Wake Forest hosted the 1995, 2004, 2006 and 2009 NCAA Division I Field Hockey championships, winning the 2004 national championship on its home turf.

The Wake Forest men’s and women’s tennis teams have combined to reach the final site of the NCAA Championships on 10 occasions with the women doing so eight times and the men twice. Bea Bielik of the women’s team won the 2002 NCAA Singles Championship.