Anderson Commits to 2016 Winston-Salem Open

September 9, 2015 10:48 AM

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Kevin Anderson – champion of the 2015 Winston-Salem Open – is the first player committed to return for the 2016 tournament.  Anderson is through to his first Grand Slam quarterfinal at the US Open after derailing 2012 US Open champion and World No. 3 Andy Murray 7-6(5), 6-3, 6-7(2), 7-6(0) on Monday night.  Anderson will compete against Stan Wawrinka in the US Open quarterfinals later today in the third match of the afternoon session on Arthur Ashe Stadium.

“We’re very excited that Kevin is returning to Winston-Salem to compete again next summer,” tournament director Bill Oakes said. “By many measures, the 2015 Winston-Salem Open was our best tournament to date, and we think Kevin’s early commitment to next year’s tournament speaks volumes about the rising importance of the Winston-Salem Open among the summer tournaments leading up to the US Open.”

Anderson, a 6-8 South African who has one of the heaviest serves on tour, is currently ranked at a career high No. 14 in the ATP rankings.  At age 29, Anderson has enjoyed an outstanding grass court season, reaching the finals at the Aegon Championships earlier this year before losing to Andy Murray.  He advanced to the fourth round at Wimbledon before losing a tough five-setter to eventual champion Novak Djokovic.

Anderson won the first two sets against Djokovic that day and had Djokovic on the ropes before Djokovic rallied. Anderson owns two other ATP World Tour singles titles. The first came in his hometown of Johannesburg in 2011, and the second, oddly enough, came in his American home base of Delray Beach in 2012.

This year he reached the fourth round at Wimbledon and the Australian Open, and the third round at Roland Garros. Anderson is a former three-time All-American at Illinois and teamed with Ryan Rowe to win the 2006 NCAA doubles title.

The 2016 Winston-Salem Open will be held August 20-27, 2016 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex adjacent to BB&T Field.

About the Emirates Airline US Open Series

Now in its 12th season, the Emirates Airline US Open Series continues to serve as a true regular season of hard court tennis, linking seven summer tournaments to the US Open. In 2014, Serena Williams won the US Open and Emirates Airline US Open Series women’s title for the second consecutive year, earning a record tennis paycheck of $4 million. Rafael Nadal (2013), Roger Federer (2007) and Kim Clijsters (2005) also accomplished the feat of winning the Emirates Airline US Open Series and US Open singles title within the same year.

About The ATP

The ATP is the governing body of the men's professional tennis circuits - the ATP World Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ATP Champions Tour. With 62 tournaments in 31 countries, the ATP World Tour showcases the finest male athletes competing in the world’s most exciting venues. From Australia to Europe and the Americas to Asia, the stars of the 2014 ATP World Tour will battle for prestigious titles and Emirates ATP Rankings points at ATP World Tour Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, as well as Grand Slams (non ATP events). At the end of the season only the world’s top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams will qualify to compete for the last title of the season at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals. Held at The O2 in London, the event will officially crown the 2015 ATP World Tour No.1 presented by Emirates. For more information, please visit