Winston-Salem Open Announces 2015 Player Field

July 15, 2015 02:42 PM


WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The Winston-Salem Open at Wake Forest University announced today the player field for the tournament, which will be held August 22-29 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex adjacent to BB&T Field.  The field of competitors announced thus far will occupy 38 of the slots in the tournament’s 48-player singles draw.

In addition to previously announced fan favorites Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, David Goffin, Sam Querrey, Viktor Troicki, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Steve Johnson, Alexandr Dolgopolov and Juan Monaco, this year's field also includes Winston-Salem Open defending champion Lukas Rosol and top 40 players such as Roberto Bautista Agut, Pablo Andujar Sam Querrey and and Boma Coric. All 38 players currently slated to compete in the Winston-Salem Open are ranked in the top 74 in the world. 

“The Winston-Salem Open is presenting the strongest field of competitors since 2012, and that year was an anomaly because of additional player availability created by Olympic competition,” Winston-Salem Open tournament director Bill Oakes said.  “This year marks the fifth Winston-Salem Open, and it is emerging as commonplace for our top 16 seeds to be among the top 50 players in the world based on ATP rankings. “

“That’s the case this year.  In fact, three of the players – Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, David Goffin and Viktor Troicki – would be in the top 20,” he said.  “That’s an incredible field of players, and the level of competition in Winston-Salem is going to be amazing to watch.”

The highest ranked player announced thus far who will compete in Winston-Salem is Tsonga, currently ranked No. 12.  He fiercely competed in the semifinals at the French Open but lost to eventual champion Stan Wawrinka in four sets.  

The remaining 10 spots in the field will be determined in August. Of those 10 spots, four of them will come via wild card entries. Previous wild card participants have included Andy Roddick, Tomas Berdych and Ryan Harrison. Additionally, there will be an additional field of 16 doubles teams to be named closer to the tournament.

“World-class players like Alexandr Dolgopolov, Juan Monaco and last year’s tournament champion Lukas Rosol love coming to Winston-Salem because of the warm hospitality and enthusiastic fan support that our city offers,” Oakes said.  “With four years of the tournament under our belts, many of the players have developed a loyal local fan base.  It’s part of the fun to go to the tournament and cheer on your favorite players.”

“Our local fans particularly love seeing the Spaniards compete.  We have seven players representing Spain in the tournament playing field – the most of any country,” Oakes added.  “Of course fans want to cheer on the American players.  The tournament field includes three American players:  Sam Querrey, Steve Johnson and Donald Young.  We will fill the remaining slots with other incredible players and look forward to having another blockbuster tournament next month.”

Oakes noted that two of the players – Andujar and Robin Haase – have played in every Winston-Salem Open since the inaugural tournament in 2011.  Nine additional players are making their fourth appearance in the Winston-Salem Open.  There also are nine players making their local debut at this year’s tournament.

A complete list of the players accepted to the 2015 Winston-Salem Open can be found below. 

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
David Goffin
Viktor Troicki
Roberto Bautista Agut
Juan Monaco
Guillermo Garcia Lopez
Pablo Andujar
Sam Querrey
Boma Coric
Thomaz Bellucci
Victor Estrella Burgos
Jiri Vesely
Lukas Rosol
Gilles Muller
Marcos Baghdatis
Steve Johnson
Jerzy Janowicz
Teymuraz Gabashvili
Joao Sousa
Sergiy Stakhovsky
Donald Young
Santiago Giraldo
Benoit Paire
Simone Bolelli
Yen-Hsun Lu
Daniel Gimeno-Traver
Mikhail Kukushkin
Nicolas Mahut
Diego Schwartzman
Albert Ramos-Vinolas
Pablo Carreno Busta
Sam Groth
Thanasi Kokkinakis
Aljaz Bedene
Marcel Granollers
Denis Istomin
Alexandr Dolgopolov
Robin Haase



About the Winston-Salem Open

The Winston-Salem Open, an ATP World Tour 250 event with a total purse of more than $695,000, will take place from August 22-29, 2015, with qualifying set for August 22. The tournament will be the final men’s event of the Emirates Airline US Open Series and is the week prior to the US Open.  For more information on the 2015 Winston-Salem Open, please go to

About the Emirates Airline US Open Series

Now in its 12th season, the Emirates Airline US Open Series continues to serve as a true regular season of hard court tennis, linking seven summer tournaments to the US Open. In 2014, Serena Williams won the US Open and Emirates Airline US Open Series women’s title for the second consecutive year, earning a record tennis paycheck of $4 million. Rafael Nadal (2013), Roger Federer (2007) and Kim Clijsters (2005) also accomplished the feat of winning the Emirates Airline US Open Series and US Open singles title within the same year.

About The ATP

The ATP is the governing body of the men's professional tennis circuits - the ATP World Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ATP Champions Tour. With 62 tournaments in 31 countries, the ATP World Tour showcases the finest male athletes competing in the world’s most exciting venues. From Australia to Europe and the Americas to Asia, the stars of the 2014 ATP World Tour will battle for prestigious titles and Emirates ATP Rankings points at ATP World Tour Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, as well as Grand Slams (non ATP events). At the end of the season only the world’s top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams will qualify to compete for the last title of the season at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals. Held at The O2 in London, the event will officially crown the 2015 ATP World Tour No.1 presented by Emirates. For more information, please visit