Winston-Salem Open Announces Doubles Field

August 14, 2015 09:53 AM


WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The Winston-Salem Open at Wake Forest University announced today the doubles player field for the tournament, which will be held August 22-29 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex adjacent to BB&T Field.

Daniel Nestor is one of the all-time great doubles players in ATP World Tour history with 87 career doubles titles and more than 900 wins. He and Leander Paes teamed up to win the 2013 Winston-Salem Open. The 42-year-old Canadian was ranked No. 1 in 2002 and has won at least one doubles title in each year since 1994. He had 40 titles while teaming with Mark Knowles. Earlier this year he won with Rohan Bopanna in Dubai and Sydney. He also owns four Grand Slam mixed doubles titles and an Olympic gold medal from the Sydney Olympics. Lukasz Kubot is an outstanding player in his own right with 11 career titles, including two this year.

Another one of the top duos in this year’s tournament will be former University of Virginia star Treat Huey and David Marrero. Huey owns four career ATP World Tour doubles titles including one this year at Estoril with Scott Lipsky. Marrero owns 11 career titles and won earlier this year in Rome.

Lipsky, who teamed with Santiago Gonzalez to win the 2012 Winston-Salem Open, will team with American veteran Eric Butorac to be the third seeds. Lipsky owns 13 career titles including one this year at Estoril with Huey.

The highest-ranked singles player in the doubles field will be Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (currently No. 29), who will team with Spanish countryman Pablo Carreno Busta. Two other top 60 singles players, Teymuraz Gavashvilli and Joao Sousa, also will team up for doubles competition at the Winston-Salem Open.

“There are also several intriguing pairings among the alternates. Defending Winston-Salem Open singles champion Lukas Rosol has signed up to play with Jonathan Marray, and tournament regular Robin Haase has entered with Julian Knowle,” Winston-Salem Open tournament director Bill Oakes said.  “The highly entertaining duo of Dustin Brown and Donald Young also have entered the doubles competition.  They’re fan favorites wherever they play, and we should be in for a real treat.”

As in past years, all fans who stay to watch the doubles final on Saturday, Aug. 29 will be invited onto the court to help present the trophy to the champions.

A complete list of the doubles players accepted to the Winston-Salem Open can be found below.

The Winston-Salem Open will be held August 22-29 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex adjacent to BB&T Field. Box seats and individual tickets to the Winston-Salem Open are available online at, by calling (336) 758-6409 or in person at the Wake Forest ticket office located at Bridger Field House at BB&T Field. Tickets to the tournament are on sale now, beginning at just $5 and ranging up to $69 for the championship on August 29.

The Winston-Salem Open is offering discounts for groups of 10 or more, and tickets to qualifying on August 22 begin at only $5.  There will be no additional fees to the ticket price and parking will be free again this year.

About the Winston-Salem Open

The Winston-Salem Open, an ATP World Tour 250 event with a total purse of more than $695,000, will take place from August 22-29, 2015, with qualifying set for August 22. The tournament will be the final men’s event of the Emirates Airline US Open Series and is the week prior to the US Open.  For more information on the 2015 Winston-Salem Open, please go to\

About the Emirates Airline US Open Series

Now in its 12th season, the Emirates Airline US Open Series continues to serve as a true regular season of hard court tennis, linking seven summer tournaments to the US Open. In 2014, Serena Williams won the US Open and Emirates Airline US Open Series women’s title for the second consecutive year, earning a record tennis paycheck of $4 million. Rafael Nadal (2013), Roger Federer (2007) and Kim Clijsters (2005) also accomplished the feat of winning the Emirates Airline US Open Series and US Open singles title within the same year.

About The ATP

The ATP is the governing body of the men's professional tennis circuits - the ATP World Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ATP Champions Tour. With 62 tournaments in 31 countries, the ATP World Tour showcases the finest male athletes competing in the world’s most exciting venues. From Australia to Europe and the Americas to Asia, the stars of the 2014 ATP World Tour will battle for prestigious titles and Emirates ATP Rankings points at ATP World Tour Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, as well as Grand Slams (non ATP events). At the end of the season only the world’s top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams will qualify to compete for the last title of the season at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals. Held at The O2 in London, the event will officially crown the 2015 ATP World Tour No.1 presented by Emirates. For more information, please visit  

2015 Main Draw
Lukasz Kubot (POL) and Daniel Nestor (CAN)
Treat Huey (PHI) and David Marrero (ESP)
Eric Butorac (USA) and Scott Lipsky (USA)
Dominic Inglot (GBR) and Robert Lindstedt (SWE)
Andre Begemann (GER) and Henri Kontinen (SWE)
Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP) and Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (ESP)
Mariusz Fyrstenberg (POL) and Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi (PAK)
Andre Sa (BRA) and Artem Sitak (NZL)
Teymuraz Gabashvili (RUS) and Joao Sousa (POR)
Nicholas Monroe (USA) and Benoit Paire (FRA)
2015 Alternates
Oliver Marach (AUT) and Jiri Vesely (CZE)
Jonathan Marray (GBR) and Lukas Rosol (CZE)
Chris Guccione (AUS) and Michael Venus (NZL)
Robin Haase (NED) and Julian Knowle (AUT)
Santiago Gonzalez (MEX) and Philipp Oswald (AUT)
Colin Fleming (GBR) and Sergiy Stakhovsky (UKR)
Sergey Betov (BLR) and Mikhail Elgin (RUS)
Marcus Daniell (NZL) and Marcelo Demoliner (BRA)
Dustin Brown (GER) and Donald Young (USA)
Julio Peralta (CHI) and Matt Seeberger (USA)